MLB Baseball

#48
Matthew Boyd
ERA W-L K
5.27 6-11 110
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-3 / 215 NFBC ADP: 376.86
Position: SPBorn: 2/2/1991 Birthplace: Bellevue, Washington
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 6th Round by Blue Jays (2013)


Latest News
Sep. 30 8:37 AM PT9:37 AM MT10:37 AM CT11:37 AM ET11:37 ET15:37 GMT23:37 8:37 AM MST10:37 AM EST11:07 AM VEN19:37 UAE10:37 AM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 6-11, allowing five runs on seven hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-3 on Friday.
Analysis: Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 5.27 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 23 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed two runs - one earned - on four hits and two walks in 6.2 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 10-4 on Saturday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 5.12 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Boyd is 1-1 with a 0.87 ERA in his last three starts after he posted a 5.92 ERA in his first 21 starts.
Sep. 18 10:47 PM PT11:47 PM MT12:47 AM CT1:47 AM ET1:47 ET5:47 GMT13:47 10:47 PM MST12:47 AM EST1:17 AM VEN9:47 UAE12:47 AM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 6-10, allowing one hit and one walk in a complete-game shutout, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Chicago White Sox 12-0 on Sunday. Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 5.33 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: After having his no-hit bid thwarted by Tim Anderson's double with two outs in the ninth inning, Boyd settled for his first career shutout and complete game. Though the left-hander's season has been a disappointment overall, he's finishing strong with a 2.16 ERA through four September starts.
Sep. 12 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 5-10, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 2-0 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 5.75 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 5-9, allowing four runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 13-2 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Boyd struck out four, ending the game with a 5.93 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 2:35 PM PT3:35 PM MT4:35 PM CT5:35 PM ET17:35 ET21:35 GMT5:35 2:35 PM MST4:35 PM EST5:05 PM VEN1:35 UAE (+1)4:35 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed one run on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 3-2 on Friday. Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 5.92 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 27 3:56 PM PT4:56 PM MT5:56 PM CT6:56 PM ET18:56 ET22:56 GMT6:56 3:56 PM MST5:56 PM EST6:26 PM VEN2:56 UAE (+1)5:56 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 5-8, allowing five runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 7-1 on Sunday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 6.32 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Boyd is 0-3 with a 10.50 ERA in his last four starts.
Aug. 23 9:26 PM PT10:26 PM MT11:26 PM CT12:26 AM ET0:26 ET4:26 GMT12:26 9:26 PM MST11:26 PM EST11:56 PM VEN8:26 UAE11:26 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 5-7, allowing seven runs on seven hits and three walks in 2.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the New York Yankees 13-4 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out two, ending the game with a 6.24 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Boyd's first start since Aug. 13 didn't last long as he was tagged for three first-inning runs and four more in the third. The lefty has had a terrible month, having gone 0-2 with a 10.13 ERA and allowing a .378 opposing batting average in five appearances.
Aug. 18 8:52 PM PT9:52 PM MT10:52 PM CT11:52 PM ET23:52 ET3:52 GMT11:52 8:52 PM MST10:52 PM EST11:22 PM VEN7:52 UAE (+1)10:52 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed one run on one hit and two walks in 1.1 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 8-5 on Friday. Boyd struck out two, ending the game with a 5.70 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 4:40 PM PT5:40 PM MT6:40 PM CT7:40 PM ET19:40 ET23:40 GMT7:40 4:40 PM MST6:40 PM EST7:10 PM VEN3:40 UAE (+1)6:40 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed four runs on six hits and three walks in 5.2 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-4 on Sunday. Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 5.68 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: After notching three straight quality starts, Norris is 0-1 with a 7.71 ERA in his last three outings.
Aug. 8 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)10:03 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 5-6, allowing six runs - five earned - on nine hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-3 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 5.64 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: After ending July with wins in three consecutive quality starts, Boyd has been rocked for eight earned runs and 14 hits while failing to last five innings in his first two outings of August. The left-hander does have 24 strikeouts in 21 2/3 innings over his last four starts, however.
Aug. 4 7:35 AM PT8:35 AM MT9:35 AM CT10:35 AM ET10:35 ET14:35 GMT22:35 7:35 AM MST9:35 AM EST10:05 AM VEN18:35 UAE9:35 AM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed three runs on five hits and four walks in 4.1 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-5 on Thursday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 5.35 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
July 29 6:32 PM PT7:32 PM MT8:32 PM CT9:32 PM ET21:32 ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST8:32 PM EST9:02 PM VEN5:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 5-5, allowing three runs on eight hits in 7.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Houston Astros 5-3 on Saturday. Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 5.30 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
July 23 4:51 PM PT5:51 PM MT6:51 PM CT7:51 PM ET19:51 ET23:51 GMT7:51 4:51 PM MST6:51 PM EST7:21 PM VEN3:51 UAE (+1)6:51 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 4-5, allowing three runs on four hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Minnesota Twins 9-6 on Sunday. Boyd struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.48 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
July 19 9:19 AM PT10:19 AM MT11:19 AM CT12:19 PM ET12:19 ET16:19 GMT0:19 9:19 AM MST11:19 AM EST11:49 AM VEN20:19 UAE11:19 AM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 3-5, allowing three runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 9-3 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out three, ending the game with a 5.58 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Boyd was recalled from Triple-A Toledo earlier in the day and ended up earning his first major league win since April 16. He had been 0-4 with a 6.37 ERA in his previous eight starts before being sent to the minors in early June. The fact that his winning return - and a quality start - came at Kauffman Stadium was particularly surprising since he was 0-2 with a 13.17 ERA in his first four career starts there.
June 1 8:51 AM PT9:51 AM MT10:51 AM CT11:51 AM ET11:51 ET15:51 GMT23:51 8:51 AM MST10:51 AM EST11:21 AM VEN19:51 UAE10:51 AM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed four runs on seven hits and one walk in 3.2 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-5 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out one, ending the game with a 5.69 ERA and 1.77 WHIP on the season.
May 27 10:37 PM PT11:37 PM MT12:37 AM CT1:37 AM ET1:37 ET5:37 GMT13:37 10:37 PM MST12:37 AM EST1:07 AM VEN9:37 UAE12:37 AM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 2-5, allowing three runs on nine hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 8-2 on Friday. Boyd struck out three, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Boyd continues to get hit hard, as he's surrendered 37 hits in 18 1/3 innings - a .416 average - over his last four starts. The left-hander has now lost four of his past five outings and is winless in seven starts since recording his last victory on April 16. His grasp on a rotation spot appears to be rather shaky.
May 22 7:06 AM PT8:06 AM MT9:06 AM CT10:06 AM ET10:06 ET14:06 GMT22:06 7:06 AM MST9:06 AM EST9:36 AM VEN18:06 UAE9:06 AM CT-Boyd fell to 2-4, allowing four runs on 12 hits in 5.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Texas Rangers 5-2 on Sunday.
Analysis: Boyd struck out three, ending the game with a 5.36 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
May 17 10:22 PM PT11:22 PM MT12:22 AM CT1:22 AM ET1:22 ET5:22 GMT13:22 10:22 PM MST12:22 AM EST12:52 AM VEN9:22 UAE12:22 AM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed seven runs on eight hits and two walks in 2.1 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Baltimore Orioles 13-11 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out one, ending the game with a 5.18 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
May 11 9:00 AM PT10:00 AM MT11:00 AM CT12:00 PM ET12:00 ET16:00 GMT0:00 9:00 AM MST11:00 AM EST11:30 AM VEN20:00 UAE11:00 AM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 2-3, allowing four runs - three earned - on eight hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-1 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 3.89 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
May 4 9:47 PM PT10:47 PM MT11:47 PM CT12:47 AM ET0:47 ET4:47 GMT12:47 9:47 PM MST11:47 PM EST12:17 AM VEN8:47 UAE11:47 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 2-2, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 7.2 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 3-2 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out four, ending the game with a 3.78 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Boyd, who has a 2.61 ERA with a 1.19 WHIP in five starts since being shelled by the White Sox in his season debut, next takes the ball Tuesday at Arizona.
Apr. 29 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed three runs on seven hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 7-3 on Friday. Boyd struck out five, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 5:55 PM PT6:55 PM MT7:55 PM CT8:55 PM ET20:55 ET0:55 GMT8:55 5:55 PM MST7:55 PM EST8:25 PM VEN4:55 UAE (+1)7:55 PM CT-Boyd scattered seven hits while holding the Indians to one run over six innings to pick up his second win of the season.
Analysis: After being rocked for five runs in 2 1/3 innings by the White Sox in his season debut, Boyd has yielded just one run over 12 innings to win back-to-back outings. He'll face a Minnesota team he dominated in his previous start when he next takes the mound Saturday at Target Field.
Apr. 11 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Boyd allowed one hit in six outstanding innings of Tuesday's 2-1 win over Minnesota.
Analysis: Boyd recovered nicely after giving up five runs in 2 1/3 innings in his first start of the season against the Chicago White Sox last week. The Tigers picked him over the more experienced Anibal Sanchez for a spot in the rotation, and they'll hope this start was more indicative of what he'll provide going forward.
Apr. 6 4:18 PM PT5:18 PM MT6:18 PM CT7:18 PM ET19:18 ET23:18 GMT7:18 4:18 PM MST6:18 PM EST6:48 PM VEN3:18 UAE (+1)6:18 PM CT-Boyd had a poor season debut Thursday against the White Sox, allowing five runs and five hits with four walks over 2 1/3 innings.
Analysis: Boyd is 7-12 with a 6.03 ERA in 31 career starts. He's allowed a whopping 35 home runs over 150 2/3 innings in those games.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Tor 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 6.2 15 11 11 5 1 0 7 2.40 14.85
2015 Det 1 4 0 - 0 11 10 0 50.2 56 39 37 12 19 0 36 1.48 6.57
2015 Tot 1 6 0 - 0 13 12 0 57.1 71 50 48 17 20 0 43 1.59 7.53
2016 Det 6 5 0 - 0 20 18 0 97.1 97 51 49 17 29 0 82 1.29 4.53
2017 Det 6 11 0 - 0 26 25 1 135.0 157 84 79 18 53 3 110 1.56 5.27
Career 13 22 0 - 0 59 55 1 289.2 325 185 176 52 102 3 235 1.47 5.47

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Det 26 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .333
Career 59 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .333


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1186 96 86 92 50.34
Curveball 423 79 71 74.6 17.95
Slider 262 91 82 86.2 11.12
Changeup 485 84 77 80.9 20.59

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.